"Spoken Stories, Creating Community"

Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU)
10501 FGCU Blvd S, Fort Myers, FL 33965

Tickets at fgcustorytelling.eventbrite.com

FGCU Storytelling

FGCU Storytelling Series presents oral storytelling as a performance art, community art, healing art. Produced by Dr. Joel Ying and Prof. Lori Cornelius for the Dept of Language and Literature and the Dept of Integrated Studies, College of Arts and Sciences. Sponsored by Seidler Foundation, Wasmer Art Gallery, Florida Storytelling Association, and Office of Scholarly Innovation and Student Research.

For TICKETS and more info, CLICK on the LINKS below.

Spring 2023 Schedule

Jan 26 - 29, 2023 Florida Storytelling Festival, Lakeside Inn, Mt Dora, FL

Tue Jan 31 @6pm Alton Chung performs “History in the First Person”

Wed Feb 1 @6pm Alton Chung performs “Okinawan Memories of WWII”

Tue Feb 7 @5:30pm Open Sharing ... Stories of Hope and Loss ~ Life After Hurricane Ian
Reception at 5:30pm, Event starts 6pm.

Sat Feb 11 @9am YAK Festival (Young Authors for Kindness), Library Lawn, FGCU
special performance by National Storyteller, Noa Baum

Tue Feb 14 @6pm The Elephant: Open Mic Storytelling – “Second Chances”

Wed Feb 15 @6pm Storytelling Salon: FGCU perspectives on “Love”

Tue Mar 14 @6pm The Elephant: Open Mic Storytelling – “Scars

Tue Mar 28 @6pm Sheila Arnold performs African American Folk Tales & Songs

Wed Mar 29 @6pm Sheila Arnold performs Stories of the Underground Railroad, "Locks Open: Waterways to Freedom"

Tue Apr 4 @6pm The Elephant: Open Mic Storytelling – “Believe it or not”

Wed Apr 5 @6pm Dr. Joel Ying performs “From Jamaica with Love”

Wed Apr 19 @5pm Student Showcase - Storytelling as Healing

Tue Apr 25 @5pm Student Showcase - The Elephant: Open Mic Storytelling – “Inspiration”

Fall 2022 Schedule

Tue Sep 13 Open Mic Storytelling – “Mountains”

Wed Sep 14 Kuniko Yamamoto performs Origami Stories: Samurai Spirit

Mini-Conference Week: Voices of Appalachia CANCELLED due to Hurricane Ian

Mon Sep 26 FGCU Faculty Reading: Out of the Mountains with Stephen Cavitt, Lori Cornelius

Tue Sep 27 Josh Goforth performs Folk Music and Stories of Appalachia

Wed Sep 28 Josh Goforth performs Stories and Songs of Appalachia

Thu Sep 29 Book Reading, Discussion, Reception: Karen McElmurray

Fri Sep 30 Panel Discussion: Appalachia to Academia; Karen McElmurray, Stephen Cavitt, Lori Cornelius

Tue Oct 18 Open Mic Storytelling – Medicine and Healing, guest emcee Regi Carpenter

Tue Oct 18 Regi Carpenter performs Traditional Stories & Healing

Wed Oct 19 Storytelling Salon – Medicine and Healing; Joel Ying, Regi Carpenter, Lori Cornelius

Wed Oct 19 Regi Carpenter performs “Snapped!” Teenage struggle with mental illness.

Tue Oct 25 Open Mic Storytelling – Spooked!

Tue Nov 15 Open Mic Storytelling – “Never Forget”

Wed Nov 16 Dr. Joel Ying performs “Never Forget”

Wed Nov 30 Student Showcase

Tue Dec 6 Open Mic Storytelling – “Celebration”

Additional Links